Leadership and governance

Our trustees and academic chairs

Southwest University of Visual Arts strives to be an exemplary force in Postsecondary Education by employing professionals with the training and experience that prepares students to meet the competitive challenges of an evolving global environment. Each department is directed by a full-time professional with the background to ensure the education focuses on the intellectual, technical, professional and critical thinking skills necessary to sustain life-long learning and career success.

Cover image: Ben Snell

  • Leadership team

    Camden Hardy

    Interim President

    • MFA Photography, University of Arizona
    • BA Media and Theatre Arts (Photography Option), Montana State University

    View profile


    Lisa Larrabee

    Interim Chief Academic Officer

    • M.Ed, Northern Arizona University
    • BFA, Kansas City Art Institute

    View profile


    Griselda Martinez

    Director of Finance and Operations

    • BA Interdisciplinary Studies with Emphasis in Public Management, Northern Arizona University


    Carly Zufelt

    Dean of Students

    • MFA, Studio Arts, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
    • BFA, Photography, Southwest University of Visual Arts

    View profile


  • Board of Directors

    Stuart Gibson

    Board President

    • MFA, Studio Arts, University of Arizona
    • BFA, Studio Arts, University of Arizona
    • Associate Professor of Art, Eastern Arizona College


    Eli Burke

    Board Member

    • BFA Studio Art, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
    • MFA Studio Art, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
    • PhD Art and Visual Culture Education, University of Arizona
    • Education Director, Museum of Contemporary Art, Tucson, Arizona


    Alessandro Cavallaro

    Board Member

    • MSc Engineering, University of Arizona
    • PhD Engineering, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
    • R&D Optical Engineer


    Korina Gregg

    Board Member

    • AB, Business & Entrepreneurism, Parks School of Business
    • President/Owner, AIM Solutions - HR Executive Benefits


    Brenda Hanna

    Board Member

    • BSc Vocational Rehabilitation, University of Arizona
    • MSc Learning Disabilities, University of Arizona
    • Assistant Director of TUSD (retired)


    Gary Johnston

    Board Member

    • BA German & History, Cornell College, Mt Vernon
    • MA Linguistics, University of Arizona
    • PhD Foundations of Education, University of Arizona
    • Tutoring Coordinator at CESL, University of Arizona (retired)


    Alex Mastrangelo

    Board Member

    • BA Communications and Creative Writing, University of Arizona
    • Owner & Broker, Habitation Realty, Tucson, Arizona


    Jason Yates

    Board Member

    • BFA, University of Michigan
    • MFA, ArtCenter College of Design, Pasadena, California
    • Graduate Advisor at ArtCenter College of Design, Pasadena, California